A Joint Affair …

DSC06875

The blogging world has had to take a side step for me the last 2 months … as has the yoga and a lot of my experimental hours in the kitchen. I don’t mind telling you it has been one tough trot .. with a way to go. Still I am beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel and I am back writing, reading and learning new ways to reach my goals. Despite it having been an overly emotional few months full of financial and medical challenges I feel I have come out the other end more determined than ever to achieve that healthy, successful lifestyle. This too shall pass.

Like most I have my bad days and good days; those times when goals and dreams give way to self doubt and pity. Yet truthfully there are few things that truly terrify me and leave me wondering how to cope. My recent $800 electricity phone bill is one of them (!) , my sometimes apparent lack of control over my health can prove another, but mostly I dust myself off, pick myself up and get on with it. I put this down to a damn good read gifted to me many years ago in difficult times and the fact that I honestly believe that we can change almost anything in our own lives. Sure the washing machine will go at the same time as the mobile phones and epic strata and car maintenance bills will coincide. Such is life … scream, sob and then re-evaluate, set goals and regain perspective. If it is not life or death it is really not worth worrying too hard about.

But folks some times in life can be more mentally draining than others … and damn scary.

2 months ago my left elbow went dry, scaly and discolored (purple ) … then a week later my left elbow did the same and suddenly I found myself barely able to bend my fingers or knees … simple tasks like walking, bending down or even cutting a loaf of bread had me looking ( and feeling ) like someone much more my senior. There was a trip to emergency when so much as bending my left elbow left me in agonizing pain, there has been acupuncture, GP’s, blood tests ( and more to come ), steroids ( nasty ! ), anti-inflammatory drugs ( not good for a tummy as sensitive as mine ) and still we are playing around with the diagnosis. Viral counts are high, Vit. D is non-existent and after ruling out RA or Psoriasis it is back on the table according to the doctor.  It has proved a painfully emotional roller coaster that along with my digestive issues, has at times required a lot of that “chin up tiger” attitude.

The pain right now is manageable, and truthfully I am uncertain what has caused it to subside a little – god knows I have hit it with everything I have got. I’ve only managed one Yoga class .. but try for a daily walk no matter the pace. Exercise is so important to our well being and digestion after all ! The warmer weather here in Adelaide does seem to help a little – as does the epsom salt baths I take ( will share my ‘recipe’ here soon ). Sam and I still concurred our Sydney trip – despite my doubts and I cannot wait to share some of the pics and recommendations on here.

Yet for now I just wanted to say a big, HELLO – Blogging world I am back and despite a few battle wounds and a few more complications on this journey of mine, I am ok and will survive the latest too ! I will be focusing a lot on pain management and anti-inflammatory eating, and a newly found naturopath ( really what are nightshade vegetables … and Im a little scared of all this vega testing ?! ), but any advice, as always is welcome and received with gratitude !

Leave a comment